Kuwait govt bans nationals from 5 African countries from recruitment

Men at work

The Kuwaiti General Directorate of Residence Affairs recently announced a ban on recruitment of domestic workers from five African countries.

The latest ban raises the list to 20 countries. According  local media sources, the Kuwaiti ministry of foreign affairs issued a circular mentioning the names of the 5 countries, which include Djibouti, Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau.

Additionally, the other 15 African countries are Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, Togo, Senegal, Malawi, Bhutan, Chad, Sierra Leone, Niger, Tanzania, the Gambia, Ghana, Zimbabwe and Madagascar.

The circular also included five other African countries whose domestic workers faced a temporary ban, including Cameroon, the Congo, Burundi, Eritrea and Liberia.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *