EKSG Constitutes Committee on  Supreme Court Judgement in the matter of  Ilejemeje LGA

Governor Kayode Fayemi
Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, has constituted a high level Committee to facilitate the implementation of the Supreme Court Judgment in the matter of the location of the headquarters of Ilejemeje Local Government Area.
The Supreme Court, had two weeks ago, in the case of Oba J. A Awolola (Eleda of Eda Oniyo) Vs Governor of Ekiti State and two others, ordered the relocation of  the headquarters of  Ilemeje local government from Iye – Ekiti to  Eda Oniyo in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as Amended.
According to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Yinka Oyebode, the seven-person  committee is headed by the State Deputy Governor, Otunba Bisi Egbeyemi, who is the chairman.
Other members of the committee are: the Attorney- General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Olawale Fapohunda; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Mr Ayoola Owolabi; Vice President, Nigeria Bar Association (NBA),  Dr. Foluke Dada. READ ALSO:APC presidential campaign council: Dangote, Otedola, Prof Oba make list
Others are Chairman, NBA Ado-Ekiti Branch, Mr Olakanmi Falade;; a former Attorney general and Commissioner for Justice in the State , Mr Owoseni Ajayi, and the  Executive Secretary, bureau of Chieftaincy Affairs, Mr. Remi Obaparusi.
According to the statement, the Terms of Reference of the Committee include:
“Advise  Government on  the administrative and practical  implications of  the judgment of the Supreme Court Consult broadly with affected communities and relevant stakeholders on the implications of the said judgement on the existing local government administration. READ ALSO:(SEE FULL LISTS) Police dismisses 121 Personnel for absconding from Boko Haram’s job deployment
“Undertake any other initiative that in the opinion of the Committee will provide better clarity on the subject matter and enhance peaceful co- existence among inhabitants of  the affected communities.
The Committee is expected to submit its report on or before March 29th, 2019.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *